Skip to main content

News about Scitation

In December 2016 Scitation will launch with a new design, enhanced navigation and a much improved user experience.

To ensure a smooth transition, from today, we are temporarily stopping new account registration and single article purchases. If you already have an account you can continue to use the site as normal.

For help or more information please visit our FAQs.

banner image
No data available.
Please log in to see this content.
You have no subscription access to this content.
No metrics data to plot.
The attempt to load metrics for this article has failed.
The attempt to plot a graph for these metrics has failed.
The full text of this article is not currently available.
1. K. S. Novoselov, D. Jiang, F. Schedin, T. J. Booth, V. V. Khotkevich, S. V. Morozov, and A. K. Geim, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 102(30), 1045110453 (2005).
2. F. Xia, D. B. Farmer, Y.-M. Lin, and P. Avouris, Nano Lett. 10(2), 715718 (2010).
3. A. Splendiani, L. Sun, Y. Zhang, T. Li, J. Kim, C.-Y. Chim, G. Galli, and F. Wang, Nano Lett. 10(4), 12711275 (2010).
4. W. Jin, P.-C. Yeh, N. Zaki, D. Zhang, J. T. Sadowski, A. Al-Mahboob, A. M. van der Zande, D. A. Chenet, J. I. Dadap, I. P. Herman, P. Sutter, J. Hone, and R. M. Osgood, Phys. Rev. Lett. 111(10), 106801 (2013).
5. K. Watanabe, T. Taniguchi, T. Niiyama, K. Miya, and M. Taniguchi, Nat. Photonics 3(10), 591594 (2009).
6. J. Xue, J. Sanchez-Yamagishi, D. Bulmash, P. Jacquod, A. Deshpande, K. Watanabe, T. Taniguchi, P. Jarillo-Herrero, and B. J. LeRoy, Nat. Mater. 10, 282285 (2011).
7. C. R. Dean, A. F. Young, I. Meric, C. Lee, L. Wang, S. Sorgenfrei, K. Watanabe, T. Taniguchi, P. Kim, K. L. Shepard, and J. Hone, Nat. Nanotechnol. 5(10), 722726 (2010).
8. L. Wang, I. Meric, P. Y. Huang, Q. Gao, Y. Gao, H. Tran, T. Taniguchi, K. Watanabe, L. M. Campos, D. A. Muller, J. Guo, P. Kim, J. Hone, K. L. Shepard, and C. R. Dean, Science 342(6158), 614617 (2013).
9. G.-H. Lee, Y.-J. Yu, X. Cui, N. Petrone, C.-H. Lee, M. S. Choi, D.-Y. Lee, C. Lee, W. J. Yoo, K. Watanabe, T. Taniguchi, C. Nuckolls, P. Kim, and J. Hone, ACS Nano 7(9), 79317936 (2013).
10. L. Britnell, R. V. Gorbachev, R. Jalil, B. D. Belle, F. Schedin, A. Mishchenko, T. Georgiou, M. I. Katsnelson, L. Eaves, S. V. Morozov, N. M. R. Peres, J. Leist, A. K. Geim, K. S. Novoselov, and L. A. Ponomarenko, Science 335(6071), 947950 (2012).
11. R. V. Gorbachev, I. Riaz, R. R. Nair, R. Jalil, L. Britnell, B. D. Belle, E. W. Hill, K. S. Novoselov, K. Watanabe, T. Taniguchi, A. K. Geim, and P. Blake, Small 7(4), 465468 (2011).
12. D. Golla, K. Chattrakun, K. Watanabe, T. Taniguchi, B. J. LeRoy, and A. Sandhu, Appl. Phys. Lett. 102, 161906 (2013).
13. A. Nagashima, N. Tejima, Y. Gamou, T. Kawai, and C. Oshima, Phys. Rev. Lett. 75(21), 39183921 (1995).
14. M. Corso, W. Auwarter, M. Muntwiler, A. Tamai, T. Greber, and J. Osterwalder, Science 303(5655), 217220 (2004).
15. P. Sutter, J. Lahiri, P. Albrecht, and E. Sutter, ACS Nano 5(9), 73037309 (2011).
16. L. Song, L. Ci, H. Lu, P. B. Sorokin, C. Jin, J. Ni, A. G. Kvashnin, D. G. Kvashnin, J. Lou, B. I. Yakobson, and P. M. Ajayan, Nano Lett. 10(8), 32093215 (2010).
17. Y. Shi, C. Hamsen, X. Jia, K. K. Kim, A. Reina, M. Hofmann, A. L. Hsu, K. Zhang, H. Li, Z.-Y. Juang, M. S. Dresselhaus, L.-J. Li, and J. Kong, Nano Lett. 10(10), 41344139 (2010).
18. P. Sutter, J. Lahiri, P. Zahl, B. Wang, and E. Sutter, Nano Lett. 13(1), 276281 (2013).
19. P. W. Sutter, P. M. Albrecht, and E. A. Sutter, Appl. Phys. Lett. 97(21), 213101 (2010).
20. P. Sutter, R. Cortes, J. Lahiri, and E. Sutter, Nano Lett. 12(9), 48694874 (2012).
21. E. Sutter, P. Albrecht, B. Wang, M. L. Bocquet, L. J. Wu, Y. M. Zhu, and P. Sutter, Surf. Sci. 605(17–18), 16761684 (2011).
22. P. W. Sutter, J.-I. Flege, and E. A. Sutter, Nat. Mater. 7(5), 406411 (2008).
23. Mingsheng Xu, D. Fujita, J. Gao, and N. Hanagata, ACS Nano 4, 29372945 (2010).
24. M. P. Seah and W. A. Dench, Surf. Interface Anal. 1, 211 (1979).

Data & Media loading...


Article metrics loading...



We assess scanning electron microscopy (SEM) and Auger electron spectroscopy (AES) for thickness measurements on few-layer hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN), the layered dielectric of choice for integration with graphene and other two-dimensional materials. Observations on h-BN islands with large, atomically flat terraces show that the secondary electron intensity in SEM reflects monolayer height changes in films up to least 10 atomic layers thickness. From a quantitative analysis of AES data, the energy-dependent electron escape depth in h-BN films is deduced. The results show that AES is suitable for absolute thickness measurements of few-layer h-BN of 1 to 6 layers.


Full text loading...


Access Key

  • FFree Content
  • OAOpen Access Content
  • SSubscribed Content
  • TFree Trial Content
752b84549af89a08dbdd7fdb8b9568b5 journal.articlezxybnytfddd