banner image

Award Winners Announced at the APS-DFD Meeting
Physics of Fluids congratulates Geneviève Comte-Bellot (2014 Fluid Dynamics Prize), Eberhard Bodenschatz ( 2014 Stanley Corrsin Award), and B. D. Mater, S. M. Schaad, and S. K. Venayagamoorthy (François Naftali Frenkiel Award for Fluid Mechanics).

Congratulations to Shelley Anna, Associate Editor of Physics of Fluids and 2014 American Physical Society Fellow
Physics of Fluids is proud to congratulate Shelley Anna (Carnegie Mellon University and PoF Associate Editor) , on being elected as American Physical Society Fellow.

Gary Leal receives 2014 Warren K. Lewis Award from AIChE
AIP Publishing proudly congratulates L. Gary Leal, Physics of Fluids’ co-Editor-in-Chief, for receiving the 2014 Warren K. Lewis Award based on his important contributions to chemical engineering education.

Physics of Fluids in the News
Lift and wakes of flying snakes by Anush Krishnan, John J. Socha, Pavlos P. Vlachos and L. A. Barba, recently published on PoF, has been covered in the Science Section of the Washington Post, in Science’s ScienceShot, and on NPR’s The Protojournalist.

Referee Acknowledgment for 2013
Physics of Fluids’ Editors, John Kim and Gary Leal, would like to thank the referees for their contributions of time and expertise to the journal for papers submitted to or published in PoF in 2013.

Award Winners Announced at the APS-DFD Meeting
Physics of Fluids would like to congratulate the award winners recently announced at the 2013 Division of Fluid Dynamics annual meeting.
2013 Fluid Dynamics Prize: Elaine S. Oran, University of Maryland
2013 Stanley Corrsin Award: Michael P. Brenner, Harvard University
2013 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics: Bishakhdatta Gayen, University of California, San Diego
2013 François Frenkiel Award for Fluid Mechanics: Diego A. Donzis, Texas A&M University

Physics of Fluids welcomes a new Associate Editor in 2014
Beverley McKeon, from California Institute of Technology.

A session in honor of PoF Editor Gary Leal at 2013 AIChE Annual Meeting
A session of invited presentations in recognition of the accomplishments of Professor Gary Leal will be held at 2013 AIChE Annual Meeting in San Francisco (November 3-8, 2013). Read more.

New Special Topic: Directions in computational physics-Selected papers from a symposium honoring Parviz Moin upon his 60th birthday
Physics of Fluids is pleased to announce a special topic section dedicated to Professor Parviz Moin upon his 60th birthday. This special topic features selected contributions from the symposium Directions in Computational Flow Physics held in San Diego, California, October 12-14 2012. The papers cover blood flows, electrokinetic flows, shock-interface dynamics, suspension dynamics, and turbulence. Jonathan Freund served as Guest Editor and worked with Physics of Fluids Editor John Kim to produce this section. The partial issue is now available to view online; the full issue will publish in November 2013.

Physics of Fluids is a highly cited leader in Fluids & Plasmas Physics
Journal Impact Factor
Journal metrics just released by Thomson Reuters* show Physics of Fluids (PoF) to be a highly cited journal tracked in both Fluids & Plasmas Physics and Mechanics, with 20,567 citations in 2012. *2012 Journal Citation Reports ® (Thomson Reuters, 2013).

In the News: The Mathematical Butterfly Aerodynamic forces and vortical structures in flapping butterfly's forward flight by Naoto Yokoyama, Kei Senda, Makoto Iima, and Norio Hirai – recently published in Physics of Fluids - has been covered by Inside Science News Service. Read more about The Mathematical Butterfly.

Award Winners Announced at the APS-DFD Meeting
Physics of Fluids would like to congratulate the award winners recently announced at the Division of Fluid Dynamics annual meeting.
2012 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award:
William Durham, University of Oxford
2012 Francois Frenkiel Award:
Thomas Cubaud, Bibin M. Jose, and Samira Darvishi, Stony Brook University
2012 Fluid Dynamics Prize:
John Brady, California Institute of Technology
2012 Stanley Corrsin Award:
Daniel Lathrop, University of Maryland

The Letters section of Physics of Fluids (PoF) is now freely available!
In an effort to continue to promote the rapid distribution of new findings in scientific research, AIP is happy to announce that full-text versions of papers published in the Letters sections of Physics of Fluids are now freely available. Under this new policy, any Letter published in the Journal after 1 January 2012 will be freely accessible online by anyone. The Letters section features fast-tracked publication of concise papers on significant new findings. Submit your work to PoF Letters today at http://pof.peerx-press.org.

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address

Oops! This section does not exist...

Use the links on this page to find existing content.

3021ffa37387409fa5f8c04f8297fe48 journal.journal_tabzxybnytfddd
Scitation: Physics of Fluids (1994-present) - About