Skip to main content
banner image
No data available.
Please log in to see this content.
You have no subscription access to this content.
No metrics data to plot.
The attempt to load metrics for this article has failed.
The attempt to plot a graph for these metrics has failed.
The full text of this article is not currently available.
1.J. D. Lindl, P. Amendt, R. L. Berger, S. G. Glendinning, S. H. Glenzer, S. W. Haan, R. L. Kauffman, O. L. Landen, and L. J. Suter, Phys. Plasmas 11, 339 (2004).
2.G. H. Miller, E. I. Moses, and C. R. Wuest, Nucl. Fusion 44, S228 (2004).
3.G. B. Zimmerman and W. L. Kruer, Comments Plasma Phys. Controlled Fusion 2, 51 (1975).
4.M. M. Marinak, G. D. Kerbel, N. A. Gentile, O. Jones, D. Munro, S. Pollaine, T. R. Dittrich, and S. W. Haan, Phys. Plasmas 8, 2275 (2001).
5.T. C. Sangster, R. L. McCrory, V. N. Goncharov, D. R. Harding, S. J. Loucks, P. W. McKenty, D. D. Meyerhofer, S. Skupsky, B. Yaakobi, B. J. MacGowan, L. J. Atherton, B. A. Hammel, J. D. Lindl, E. I. Moses, J. L. Porter, M. E. Cuneo, M. K. Matzen, C. W. Barnes, J. C. Fernandez, D. C. Wilson, J. D. Kilkenny, T. P. Bernat, A. Nikroo, B. G. Logan, S. Yu, R. D. Petrasso, J. D. Sethian, and S. Obenschain, Nucl. Fusion 47, S686 (2007).
6.D. S. Clark, S. W. Haan, and J. D. Salmonson, Phys. Plasmas 15, 056305 (2008).
7.S. W. Haan, M. C. Herrmann, T. R. Dittrich, A. J. Fetterman, M. M. Marinak, D. H. Munro, S. M. Pollaine, J. D. Salmonson, G. L. Strobel, and L. J. Suter, Phys. Plasmas 12, 056316 (2005).
8.E. L. Dewald, J. Milovich, J. Edwards, C. Thomas, R. Kirkwood, D. Meeker, O. Jones, N. Izumi, and O. L. Landen, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 79, 10E903 (2008).
9.T. R. Boehly, D. Munro, P. M. Celliers, R. E. Olson, D. G. Hicks, V. N. Goncharov, G. W. Collins, H. F. Robey, S. X. Hu, J. A. Morozas, T. C. Sangster, O. L. Landen, and D. D. Meyerhofer, Phys. Plasmas 16, 056302 (2009).
10.D. Hicks, Bull. Am. Phys. Soc. 53, 2 (2008).
11.B. Spears, D. Hicks, C. Velsko, M. Stoyer, H. Robey, D. Munro, S. Haan, O. Landen, A. Nikroo, and H. Huang, J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 112, 022003 (2008).
12.G. A. Kyrala, A. Seifter, J. Kline, N. Hoffman, and S. Robert Goldman, Bull. Am. Phys. Soc. 53, 247 (2008).
13.N. M. Hoffman, D. C. Wilson, and G. A. Kyrala, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 77, 10E705 (2006).
14.R. K. Kirkwood, J. Milovich, D. K. Bradley, M. Schmitt, S. R. Goldman, D. H. Kalantar, D. Meeker, O. S. Jones, S. M. Pollaine, P. A. Amendt, E. Dewald, J. Edwards, O. L. Landen, and A. Nikroo, Phys. Plasmas 16, 012702 (2009).
15.N. D. Delamater, G. R. Magelssen, and A. A. Hauer, Phys. Rev. E 53, 5240 (1996);
15.G. R. Magelssen, N. D. Delamater, E. L. Lindman, and A. A. Hauer, Phys. Rev. E 57, 4663 (1998).
16.T. R. Boehly, D. G. Hicks, P. M. Celliers, T. J. B. Collins, R. Earley, J. H. Eggert, D. Jacobs-Perkins, S. J. Moon, E. Vianello, D. D. Meyerhofer, and G. W. Collins, Phys. Plasmas 11, L49 (2004).
17.P. M. Celliers, D. K. Bradley, G. W. Collins, D. H. Hicks, T. R. Boehly, and W. J. Armstrong, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 75, 4916 (2004).
18.D. H. Munro, P. M. Celliers, G. W. Collins, D. M. Gold, L. B. Da Silva, S. W. Haan, R. C. Cauble, B. A. Hammel, and W. W. Hsing, Phys. Plasmas 8, 2245 (2001).
19.H. F. Robey, D. H. Munro, B. K. Spears, M. M. Marinak, O. S. Jones, M. V. Patel, S. W. Haan, J. D. Salmonson, O. L. Landen, T. R. Boehly, and A. Nikroo, J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 112, 022078 (2008).
20.R. L. Kauffman, L. J. Suter, C. B. Darrow, J. D. Kilkenny, H. N. Kornblum, D. S. Montgomery, D. W. Phillion, M. D. Rosen, A. R. Theissen, R. J. Wallace, and F. Ze, Phys. Rev. Lett. 73, 2320 (1994).
21.H. F. Robey, T. R. Boehly, R. E. Olson, A. Nikroo, P. M. Celliers, O. L. Landen, and D. D. Meyerhofer, Phys. Plasmas 17, 012703 (2010).
22.A. B. Bullock, O. L. Landen, B. E. Blue, J. Edwards, and D. K. Bradley, J. Appl. Phys. 100, 043301 (2006).
23.D. C. Wilson, R. L. Singleton, Jr., J. P. Grondalski, N. M. Hoffman, A. Nobile, Jr., F. H. Séguin, J. A. Frenje, C. K. Li, and R. D. Petrasso, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 77, 10E711 (2006).
24.T. J. Murphy, J. M. Wallace, N. D. Delamater, C. W. Barnes, P. Gobby, A. A. Hauer, E. Lindman, G. Magelssen, J. B. Moore, J. A. Oertel, R. Watt, O. L. Landen, P. Amendt, M. Cable, C. Decker, B. A. Hammel, J. A. Koch, L. J. Suter, R. E. Turner, R. J. Wallace, F. J. Marshall, D. Bradley, R. S. Craxton, R. Keck, J. P. Knauer, R. Kremens, and J. D. Schnittman, Phys. Rev. Lett. 81, 108 (1998).
25.R. E. Turner, P. Amendt, O. L. Landen, S. G. Glendinning, P. Bell, C. Decker, B. A. Hammel, D. Kalantar, D. Lee, R. Wallace, D. Bradley, M. Cable, R. S. Craxton, R. Kremens, W. Seka, J. Schnittman, K. Thorp, T. J. Murphy, N. Delamater, C. W. Barnes, A. Hauer, G. Magelssen, and J. Wallace, Phys. Plasmas 7, 333 (2000).
26.R. E. Turner, P. A. Amendt, O. L. Landen, L. J. Suter, R. J. Wallace, and B. A. Hammel, Phys. Plasmas 10, 2429 (2003).
27.P. A. Amendt, R. E. Turner, and O. L. Landen, Phys. Rev. Lett. 89, 165001 (2002).
28.S. W. Haan, M. C. Herrmann, J. D. Salmonson, P. A. Amendt, D. A. Callahan, T. R. Dittrich, M. J. Edwards, O. S. Jones, M. M. Marinak, D. H. Munro, S. M. Pollaine, B. K. Spears, and L. J. Suter, Eur. Phys. J. D 44, 249 (2007).
29.J. A. Koch, O. L. Landen, B. J. Kozioziemski, N. Izumi, E. L. Dewald, J. D. Salmonson, and B. A. Hammel, J. Appl. Phys. 105, 1 (2009).
30.H. Sawada, S. P. Regan, D. D. Meyerhofer, I. V. Igumenshchev, V. N. Goncharov, T. R. Boehly, R. Epstein, T. C. Sangster, V. A. Smalyuk, B. Yaakobi, G. Gregori, S. H. Glenzer, and O. L. Landen, Phys. Plasmas 14, 122703 (2007);
30.A. L. Kritcher, P. Neumayer, J. Castor, T. Döppner, R. W. Falcone, O. L. Landen, H. J. Lee, R. W. Lee, E. C. Morse, A. Ng, S. Pollaine, D. Price, and S. H. Glenzer, Science 322, 69 (2008);
30.H. J. Lee, P. Neumayer, J. Castor, T. Döppner, R. W. Falcone, C. Fortmann, B. A. Hammel, A. L. Kritcher, O. L. Landen, R. W. Lee, D. D. Meyerhofer, D. H. Munro, R. Redmer, S. P. Regan, S. Weber, and S. H. Glenzer, Phys. Rev. Lett. 102, 115001 (2009).

Data & Media loading...


Article metrics loading...



A capsule performance optimization campaign will be conducted at the National Ignition Facility [G. H. Miller et al. , Nucl. Fusion44, 228 (2004)] to substantially increase the probability of ignition by laser-driven hohlraums [J. D. Lindl et al. , Phys. Plasmas11, 339 (2004)]. The campaign will experimentally correct for residual uncertainties in the implosion and hohlraum physics used in our radiation-hydrodynamic computational models before proceeding to cryogenic-layered implosions and ignition attempts. The required tuning techniques using a variety of ignition capsule surrogates have been demonstrated at the OMEGA facility under scaled hohlraum and capsule conditions relevant to the ignition design and shown to meet the required sensitivity and accuracy. In addition, a roll-up of all expected random and systematic uncertainties in setting the key ignition laser and target parameters due to residual measurement, calibration, cross-coupling, surrogacy, and scale-up errors has been derived that meets the required budget.


Full text loading...


Access Key

  • FFree Content
  • OAOpen Access Content
  • SSubscribed Content
  • TFree Trial Content
752b84549af89a08dbdd7fdb8b9568b5 journal.articlezxybnytfddd