NOTICE: Scitation Maintenance Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Scitation will be unavailable on Tuesday, May 5, 2015 between 3:00 AM and 4:00 AM EST due to planned network maintenance.

Thank you for your patience during this process.

banner image
No data available.
Please log in to see this content.
You have no subscription access to this content.
No metrics data to plot.
The attempt to load metrics for this article has failed.
The attempt to plot a graph for these metrics has failed.
The full text of this article is not currently available.
1. D. B. Sinars, S. A. Slutz, M. C. Herrmann, R. D. McBride, M. E. Cuneo, K. J. Peterson, R. A. Vesey, C. Nakhleh, B. E. Blue, K. Killebrew, D. Schroen, K. Tomlinson, A. D. Edens, M. R. Lopez, I. C. Smith, J. Shores, V. Bigman, G. R. Bennett, B. W. Atherton, M. Savage, W. A. Stygar, G. T. Leifeste, and J. L. Porter, Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 185001 (2010).
2. E. G. Harris, Phys. Fluids 5, 1057 (1962).
3. E. Ott, Phys. Rev. Lett. 29, 1429 (1972).
4. D. D. Ryutov, M. S. Derzon, and M. K. Matzen, Rev. Mod. Phys. 72, 167 (2000).
5. A. R. Miles, Phys. Plasmas 16, 032702 (2009).
6. S. A. Slutz, M. C. Herrmann, R. A. Vesey, A. B. Sefkow, D. B. Sinars, D. C. Rovang, K. J. Peterson, and M. E. Cuneo, Phys. Plasmas 17, 056303 (2010).
7. T. J. Nash, D. H. McDaniel, R. J. Leeper, C. D. Deeney, T. W. L. Sanford, K. Struve, and J. S. DeGroot, Phys. Plasmas 12, 052705 (2005).
8. B. Jones, C. Deeney, J. L. McKenney, C. J. Garasi, T. A. Mehlhorn, A. C. Robinson, S. E. Wunsch, S. N. Bland, S. V. Lebedev, J. P. Chittenden, S. C. Bott, D. J. Ampleford, J. B. A. Palmer, J. Rapley, G. N. Hall, and B. V. Oliver, Phys. Rev. Lett. 95, 225001 (2005).
9. S. V. Lebedev, F. N. Beg, S. N. Bland, J. P. Chittenden, A. E. Dangor, M. G. Haines, K. H. Kwek, S. A. Pikuz, and T. A. Shelkovenko, Phys. Plasmas 8, 3734 (2001).
10. M. E. Cuneo, E. M. Waisman, S. V. Lebedev, J. P. Chittenden, W. A. Stygar, G. A. Chandler, R. A. Vesey, E. P. Yu, T. J. Nash, D. E. Bliss, G. S. Sarkisov, T. C. Wagoner, G. R. Bennett, D. B. Sinars, J. L. Porter, W. W. Simpson, L. E. Ruggles, D. F. Wenger, C. J. Garasi, B. V. Oliver, R. A. Aragon, W. E. Fowler, M. C. Hettrick, G. C. Idzorek, D. Johnson, K. Keller, S. E. Lazier, J. S. McGurn, T. A. Mehlhorn, T. Moore, D. S. Nielsen, J. Pyle, S. Speas, K. W. Struve, and J. A. Torres, Phys. Rev. E 71, 046406 (2005).
11. D. B. Sinars, M. E. Cuneo, E. P. Yu, D. E. Bliss, T. J. Nash, J. L. Porter, C. Deeney, M. G. Mazarakis, G. S. Sarkisov, and D. F. Wenger, Phys. Rev. Lett. 93, 145002 (2004).
12. R. E. Reinovsky, W. E. Anderson, W. L. Atchison, C. E. Ekdahl, R. J. Faehl, I. R. Lindemuth, D. V. Morgan, M. Murillo, J. L. Stokes, and J. S. Shlachter, IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. 30, 1764 (2002).
13. G. B. Zimmerman and W. L. Kruer, Comments Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 2, 51 (1975).
14. M. M. Marinak, G. D. Kerbel, N. A. Gentile, O. Jones, D. Munro, S. Pollaine, T. R. Dittrich, and S. W. Haan, Phys. Plasmas 8, 2275 (2001).
15. J. P. Chittenden, S. V. Lebedev, C. A. Jennings, S. N. Bland, and A. Ciardi, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 46, B457 (2004).
16. C. A. Jennings, M. E. Cuneo, E. M. Waisman, D. B. Sinars, D. J. Ampleford, G. R. Bennett, W. A. Stygar, and J. P. Chittenden, Phys. Plasmas 17, 092703 (2010).
17. E. M. Waisman and M. E. Cuneo, Phys. Rev. ST Accel. Beams 12, 090401 (2009).
18. T. C. Wagoner, W. A. Stygar, H. C. Ives, T. L. Gilliland, R. B. Spielman, M. F. Johnson, P. G. Reynolds, J. K. Moore, R. L. Mourning, D. L. Fehl, K. E. Androlewicz, J. E. Bailey, R. S. Broyles, T. A. Dinwoodie, G. L. Donovan, M. E. Dudley, K. D. Hahn, A. A. Kim, J. R. Lee, R. J. Leeper, G. T. Leifeste, J. A. Melville, J. A. Mills, L. P. Mix, W. B. S. Moore, B. P. Peyton, J. L. Porter, G. A. Rochau, G. E. Rochau, M. E. Savage, J. F. Seamen, J. D. Serrano, A. W. Sharpe, R. W. Shoup, J. S. Slopek, C. S. Speas, K. W. Struve, D. M. V. D. Valde, and R. M. Woodring, Phys. Rev. ST Accel. Beams 11, 100401 (2008).
19. G. R. Bennett, I. C. Smith, J. E. Shores, D. B. Sinars, G. Robertson, B. W. Atherton, M. C. Jones, and J. L. Porter, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 79, 10E914 (2008).
20. D. B. Sinars, G. R. Bennett, D. F. Wenger, M. E. Cuneo, D. L. Hanson, J. L. Porter, R. G. Adams, P. K. Rambo, D. C. Rovang, and I. C. Smith, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 75, 3672 (2004).
21. G. I. Kerley, Int. J. Impact Eng. 5, 441 (1987).
22. Y. T. Lee and R. M. Moore, Phys. Fluids 27, 1273 (1984).
23. M. P. Desjarlais, Contrib. Plasma Phys. 41, 267 (2001).<>1.0.CO;2-5

Data & Media loading...


Article metrics loading...



A recent publication [D. B. Sinars et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 185001 (2010)] describes the first controlled experiments measuring the growth of the magneto-Rayleigh–Taylor instability in fast (∼100 ns) Z-pinch plasmas formed from initially solid aluminum tubes (liners). Sinusoidal perturbations on the surface of these liners with wavelengths of 25–400 μm were used to seed single-mode instabilities. The evolution of the outer liner surface was captured using multiframe 6.151 keV radiography. The initial paper shows that there is good agreement between the data and 2-D radiation magneto-hydrodynamic simulations down to 50 μm wavelengths. This paper extends the previous one by providing more detailed radiography images, detailed target characterization data, a more accurate comparison to analytic models for the amplitude growth, the first data from a beryllium liner, and comparisons between the data and 3D simulations.


Full text loading...

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address

Oops! This section, does not exist...

Use the links on this page to find existing content.

752b84549af89a08dbdd7fdb8b9568b5 journal.articlezxybnytfddd
Scitation: Measurements of magneto-Rayleigh–Taylor instability growth during the implosion of initially solid metal liners a)