Skip to main content

News about Scitation

In December 2016 Scitation will launch with a new design, enhanced navigation and a much improved user experience.

To ensure a smooth transition, from today, we are temporarily stopping new account registration and single article purchases. If you already have an account you can continue to use the site as normal.

For help or more information please visit our FAQs.

banner image
No data available.
Please log in to see this content.
You have no subscription access to this content.
No metrics data to plot.
The attempt to load metrics for this article has failed.
The attempt to plot a graph for these metrics has failed.
The full text of this article is not currently available.
1.J. Wrachtrup, C. von Borczyskowski, J. Bernard, M. Orritt, and R. Brown, Nature 363, 244 (1993).
2.J. Wrachtrup, C. von Borczyskowski, J. Bernard, M. Orrit, and R. Brown, Phys. Rev. Lett. 71, 3565 (1993).
3.F. Jelezko, T. Gaebel, I. Popa, M. Domhan, A. Gruber, and J. Wrachtrup, Phys. Rev. Lett. 93, 130501 (2004).
4.J. R. Weber, W. F. Koehl, J. B. Varley, A. Janotti, B. B. Buckley, C. G. V. d. Walle, and D. D. Awschalom, Appl. Phys. Lett. 109, 102417 (2011).
5.J. J. Pla, K. Y. Tan, J. P. Dehollain, W. H. Lim, J. J. L. Morton, F. A. Zwanenburg, D. N. Jamieson, A. S. Dzurak, and A. Morello, Nature 496, 334 (2013).
6.P. Siyushev, K. Xia, R. Reuter, M. Jamali, N. Zhao, N. Yang, C. Duan, N. Kukharchyk, A. D. Wieck, R. Kolesov, and J. Wrachtrup, Nat. Commun. 5, 3895 (2014).
7.D. M. Toyli, C. D. Weis, G. D. Fuchs, T. Schenkel, and D. D. Awschalom, Nano Lett. 10, 3168 (2010).
8.A. Morello, J. J. Pla, F. A. Zwanenburg, K. W. Chan, K. Y. Tan, H. Huebl, M. Mottonen, C. D. Nugroho, C. Yang, J. A. van Donkelaar, A. D. C. Alves, D. N. Jamieson, C. C. Escott, L. C. L. Hollenberg, R. G. Clark, and A. S. Dzurak, Nature 467, 687 (2010).
9.R. Kolesov, K. Xia, R. Reuter, M. Jamali, R. Stöhr, T. Inal, P. Siyushev, and J. Wrachtrup, Phys. Rev. Lett. 111, 120502 (2013).
10.R. Kolesov, K. Xia, R. Reuter, R. Stöhr, A. Zappe, J. Meijer, P. R. Hemmer, and J. Wrachtrup, Nat. Commun. 3, 1029 (2012).
11.C. Yin, M. Rancic, G. G. de Boo, N. Stavrias, J. C. McCallum, M. J. Sellars, and S. Rogge, Nature 497, 91 (2013).
12.G. Waldherr, Y. Wang, S. Zaiser, M. Jamali, T. Schulte-Herbrüggen, H. Abe, T. Ohshima, J. Isoya, J. F. Du, P. Neumann, and J. Wrachtrup, Nature 506, 204 (2014).
13.F. Dolde, V. Bergholm, Y. Wang, I. Jakobi, B. Naydenov, S. Pezzagna, J. Meijer, F. Jelezko, P. Neumann, T. Schulte-Herbrüggen, J. Biamonte, and J. Wrachtrup, Nat. Commun. 5, 3371 (2014).
14.E. Togan, Y. Chu, A. S. Trifonov, L. Jiang, J. Maze, L. Childress, M. V. G. Dutt, A. S. Sørensen, P. R. Hemmer, A. S. Zibrov, and M. D. Lukin, Nature 466, 730 (2010).
15.H. Bernien, B. Hensen, W. Pfaff, G. Koolstra, M. S. Blok, L. Robledo, T. H. Taminiau, M. Markham, D. J. Twitchen, L. Childress, and R. Hanson, Nature 497, 86 (2013).
16.D. R. McCamey, J. V. Tol, G. W. Morley, and C. Boehme, Science 330, 1652 (2010).
17.G. Balasubramanian, I. Y. Chan, R. Kolesov, M. Al-Hmoud, J. Tisler, C. Shin, C. Kim, A. Wojcik, P. R. Hemmer, A. Krueger, T. Hanke, A. Leitenstorfer, R. Bratschitsch, F. Jelezko, and J. Wrachtrup, Nature 455, 648 (2008).
18.J. R. Maze, P. L. Stanwix, J. S. Hodges, S. Hong, J. M. Taylor, P. Cappellaro, L. Jiang, M. V. G. Dutt, E. Togan, A. S. Zibrov, A. Yacoby, R. L. Walsworth, and M. D. Lukin, Nature 455, 644 (2008).
19.T. Häberle, D. Schmid-Lorch, F. Reinhard, and J. Wrachtrup, Nat. Nanotechnol. 10, 125 (2015).
20.H. J. Mamin, M. Kim, M. H. Sherwood, C. T. Rettner, K. Ohno, D. D. Awschalom, and D. Rugar, Science 339, 557 (2013).
21.S. J. DeVience, L. M. Pham, I. Lovchinsky, A. O. Sushkov, N. Bar-Gill, C. Belthangady, F. Casola, M. Corbett, H. Zhang, M. Lukin, H. Park, A. Yacoby, and R. L. Walsworth, Nat. Nanotechnol. 10, 129 (2015).
22.T. Staudacher, F. Shi, S. Pezzagna, J. Meijer, J. Du, C. A. Meriles, F. Reinhard, and J. Wrachtrup, Science 339, 561 (2013).
23.B. Grotz, J. Beck, P. Neumann, B. Naydenov, R. Reuter, F. Reinhard, F. Jelezko, J. Wrachtrup, D. Schweinfurth, B. Sarkar, and P. Hemmer, New J. Phys. 13, 055004 (2011).
24.M. S. Grinolds, S. Hong, P. Maletinsky, L. Luan, M. D. Lukin, R. L. Walsworth, and A. Yacoby, Nat. Phys. 9, 215 (2013).
25.A. Gruber, A. Drabenstedt, C. Tietz, L. Fleury, J. Wrachtrup, and C. vonBorczyskowski, Science 276, 2012 (1997).
26.H. Iizuka, T. Watanabe, K. Sato, and K. Nishikawa, IEICE Trans. Commun. E85-B, 1169 (2002).
27.N. Mizuochi, P. Neumann, F. Rempp, J. Beck, V. Jacques, P. Siyushev, K. Nakamura, D. Twitchen, H. Watanabe, S. Yamasaki, F. Jelezko, and J. Wrachtrup, Phys. Rev. B 80, 041201 (2009).
28.R. J. Epstein, F. M. Mendoza, Y. K. Kato, and D. D. Awschalom, Nat. Phys. 1, 94 (2005).
29.D. Pozar, Microwave Engineering (Wiley, 2004).
30.M. Steiner, P. Neumann, J. Beck, F. Jelezko, and J. Wrachtrup, Phys. Rev. B 81, 035205 (2010).
31.P. Neumann, J. Beck, M. Steiner, F. Rempp, H. Fedder, P. R. Hemmer, J. Wrachtrup, and F. Jelezko, Science 329, 542 (2010).
32.V. Stepanov, F. H. Cho, C. Abeywardana, and S. Takahashi, Appl. Phys. Lett. 106, 063111 (2015).

Data & Media loading...


Article metrics loading...



Magnetic resonance with ensembles of electron spins is commonly performed around 10 GHz, but also at frequencies above 240 GHz and in corresponding magnetic fields of over 9 T. However, experiments with single electron and nuclear spins so far only reach into frequency ranges of several 10 GHz, where existing coplanar waveguide structures for microwave (MW) delivery are compatible with single spin readout techniques (e.g., electrical or optical readout). Here, we explore the frequency range up to 90 GHz, with magnetic fields of up to ≈3 T for single spin magnetic resonance in conjunction with optical spin readout. To this end, we develop MW resonators with optical single spin access. In our case, rectangular 60–90 GHz (E-band) waveguides guarantee low-loss supply of microwaves to the resonators. Three dimensional cavities, as well as coplanar waveguide resonators, enhance MW fields by spatial and spectral confinement with a MW efficiency of . We utilize single nitrogen vacancy (NV) centers as hosts for optically accessible spins and show that their properties regarding optical spin readout known from smaller fields (<0.65 T) are retained up to fields of 3 T. In addition, we demonstrate coherent control of single nuclear spins under these conditions. Furthermore, our results extend the applicable magnetic field range of a single spin magnetic field sensor. Regarding spin based quantum registers, high fields lead to a purer product basis of electron and nuclear spins, which promises improved spin lifetimes. For example, during continuous single-shot readout, the 14N nuclear spin shows second-long longitudinal relaxation times.


Full text loading...


Access Key

  • FFree Content
  • OAOpen Access Content
  • SSubscribed Content
  • TFree Trial Content
752b84549af89a08dbdd7fdb8b9568b5 journal.articlezxybnytfddd