News Picks : Fields Medal awarded to a woman for the first time

By: Physics Today
13 August 2014

New York Times: Every four years the International Mathematical Union awards its top prize, the Fields Medal, to two, three, or four mathematicians under the age of 41. Among the four recipients of the 2014 medal is Stanford University's Maryam Mirzakhani, who becomes the first woman and first Iranian to receive the honor in its 78-year history. Mirzakhani's research is concerned with dynamics, which is also the subject area of two of her fellow laureates, Artur Avila of the National Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics in Brazil and Martin Hairer of Warwick University in the UK. The other laureate, Manjul Bhargava of Princeton University, studies the geometry of numbers.


Submit comment
Comment moderation successfully completed
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address

Oops! This section does not exist...

Use the links on this page to find existing content.

e0bf90919b92373893d51373e6a49b70 weblog.blogpostzxybnytfddd
Scitation: News Picks: Fields Medal awarded to a woman for the first time